18 Point Agreement Sarawak

Sep 8, 2021 von

And Noyze, tell me, do you think this kind of information is prevalent in our public library? And if the Internet itself is not a public library or a reservoir of information and the responses of different sites are the same, should we deny that it exists? The agreement is not a scam, some parties or a particular group want us to think they want them to doubt the existence of such an agreement in order to move our community and keep control of ourselves and our country. The 18-point agreement or 18-point memorandum was an 18-point list drawn up by Sarawak, which proposed conditions for the creation of Malaysia during the negotiations that preceded the creation of the new federation in 1963. It is important to know these agreements for all Sarawakians/Sabahans, whether you are a native, Chinese, Malay or Indian. These points of convergence are not well known to the people of Sarawak and Sabah, as political leaders do not really want to expose you to information that would jeopardize their domination and control over us. Without this knowledge, they can reap more from us until there is nothing left for our future sons or daughters. When the time comes that there will be nothing more to take for them, what will it be from us (Sarawakian & Sabahan)? Are we going to wait for that moment to arrive? He pointed out that history has shown that Sarawak must form Malaysia with other states because of the influence and threats to communism. When Malaysia was established, concerns about maintaining the unique identities of these states as autonomous regions, with different historical and cultural backgrounds, led to the negotiation of certain heads of agreements known as the „20-point agreement“ in the case of Sabah and, in the case of Sarawak, as the „18-point agreement“. All these points were not subsequently formalized by law, but under the Malaysia Agreement, the Federal Constitution and laws such as the Immigration Act 1959/63, Sabah and Sarawak enjoy a certain degree of autonomy and additional powers that are not available to other states. For example, Sabah and Sarawak can control immigration to their states (including immigration from the rest of Malaysia), have a separate legal profession and land regulations, and obtain additional sources of income that are not available to other states. The agreements, contained in the Proclamation of Malaysia and in the reports of the Cobbold Commission, explained the conditions and rights intended to protect the autonomy and special interests of the inhabitants of Sabah and Sarawak, including by protecting the rights of these regions in matters of religion, language, education, administration, of economy and culture. In January 1962, the British government, in collaboration with the Government of the Federation of Malaya, appointed a commission of inquiry into North Borneo and Sarawak to determine whether the people supported the proposal to create a federation of Malaysia. The five-person team, consisting of two Malays and three British representatives, was led by Lord Cobbold.

[2] An intergovernmental committee (The Lansdowne Committee) was set up to elaborate the final details of the agreement on Malaysia. . . .

Verwandte Artikel